How to throw a Superbowl Get-together for girls who don’t really care about the game

Thank goodness my two good friends, SM and N, live in the building across the street from me. This means when it is freezing outside, but I do not want to watch Millionaire Matchmaker alone in my apartment I can throw on some leggings and walk the 50 yards to their building for some company. I am seriously hoping that they never move because drinking wine on a Thursday in front of the television is a little less sad when you have other people doing it with you. This Superbowl Sunday was a dreary, rainy affair in DC and I was extremely relieved when SM offered up her apartment because I was not really in the mood to 1. Put on real clothes or 2. Sit in public where I would have to pretend to know what was going on. It was an extremely casual get-together but ended up being the perfect way to spend the evening, for several reasons:

1. These amazing bourbon-bacon chocolate chip cookies: I decided to make these because I had almost a pound of bacon leftover from another recipe and every party (at least every good party) needs to have dessert. I used Bulleit bourbon instead of Maker’s because that i sjust what I have on my shelf, and cooked the cookies at 350 degrees because I like my cookies slightly soft.

2. Peanut butter popcorn: this is the easiest way to make a salty, sweet homemade snack. I just popped some kernels in peanut oil by heating peanut oil over medium-high heat, then throwing in 1/3 cup of popcorn kernels once the oil is hot, and shaking the covered pot until the kernels pop. Once most of the kernels have popped, remove the pot from heat and shake it for a few more minutes to allow for the remaining kernels to pop. Then I melted 2 tablespoons of butter over low heat, poured about 1/2 cup of peanut butter and a few tablespoons of brown sugar into the pot and stirred everything around until completely smooth. This mixture was then poured over the popcorn, and topped with some nutmeg, salt and cinnamon. The whole thing took less than 10 minutes to make.

3. SBS’s epic nacho concoction: she layered tortilla chips, ground turkey and red beans, and cheese and tossed this into the oven for around 20 minutes. Then she topped it with homemade pico de gallo (cilantro, lime, onions, peppers, tomatoes), avocados and strained goat cheese (instead of sour cream). We snacked on these (by snacked, I mean I ate enough to count as two actual meals) while waiting for the pizza to arrive.

IMG_1012

4. Duccini’s Pizza: after googling the best pizza places (that delivered) in the DC, we decided to try Duccini’s which is located in Adams Morgan. We went with the white pizza and added sausage because you know, protein is part of the food pyramid. We also decided to get a veggie pizza because bread with vegetables on top could technically count as a salad, right?

IMG_1014

5. Ranch: apparently I have been eating pizza incorrectly my entire life. SM dips her pizza slices in ranch dressing, and while I looked at her skeptically at first I realized that she is definitely onto something once I tried it.

This was a ridiculous amount of food for four girls, and we kept snacking on it throughout the entire game. I may have felt horrendously sluggish on Monday due to the completely insane amount of carbs and fats consumed, but who really feels great on Mondays anyway?

2 comments

  1. Ann · February 12, 2015

    WHAT IS THIS BACON BOURBON CHOCOLATE MAGIC??? I’m going to buy some bacon immediately and try this.

    Also, peanut butter popcorn?? Popped on the stove??? WHO ARE YOU????? And, more importantly, why don’t you invite me to your parties?

    Like

    • Isittimetoeat · February 12, 2015

      1. The cookies were really good! Plus because they had bacon in them, it’s totally justifiable to eat them for breakfast.
      2. RIGHT? I don’t know who I am these days either. Give me a few months of single life and all of a sudden I think I’m Ina Garten.
      3. You are always welcome to the parties, you just need to get your butt down here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

