Taco Bar work day craving

The week between the two half marathons earlier this month was rough. Well, rough in a #firstworldproblem kind of way. My body was sore, but I was still trying to push myself to go on a few runs to maintain my stamina, I could not seem to get a good night of sleep because my joins ached every time I turned over in my bed, and despite having a crazy load of work, I had scheduled something every night of the week.

By Thursday, I was feeling pretty worn out but had my first Bumble (the dating app where females have to initiate contact with males first) date that evening so I knew it would be awhile before I was reunited with my bed and comforter. I decided that I needed Taco Bar to get me through the afternoon. Taco Bar is the little taco/mexican spot located in a gas station outside of the Washingtonian shopping center in Gaithersburg, Maryland. Since my office is located in the heart of surburbia, I don’t get the food truck options and power lunch spots that all of my friends working in DC have. So I usually pack my lunch and eat a sad desk meal around noon. But occasionally, when I have the time or I need something different than my usual stir-fried vegetables and tofu, I make the drive to the raved-about Taco Bar for lunch. While they offer quesadillas, burritos, and taquitos, I have actually only ordered the tacos. But they are just so satisfying that I have not been tempted to eat anything else, plus the toppings bar for these tacos is so incredible.

I drove over to the gas station during my lunch break and ordered 1 taco de suadero (grilled rib meat) and 1 taco de pastor (pork marinated with pineapple), then went over to the taco bar and completely loaded up on the pico de gallo, pickled onions, raw onions, and hot green salsa. When I say load up, I mean I completely pile on these toppings until I can barely see the meat underneath all of the vegetables. My goal is to just make a taco salad out of everything.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

When I got back to the office, I removed the tortillas and mixed everything together. The generous servings of both meats, the light and bright toppings made an incredibly juicy and flavorful combination that both filled me but also did not make me feel heavy or gross despite the massive quantity of food in my stomach. It was the perfect thing to get me through the day and to the evening date.

Leave a Reply

